Our sync app keeps files and folders in your device in sync with your cloud storage account but you must tell it what should be synced, how, and when. The cloud storage is Dropbox, OneDrive, Google Drive or Box depedning on which sync app you are using.
The central concept is the folder pair. You pair a folder in your device with another folder in the cloud. The app will keep these two folders in sync with each other. It does so automatically in the background if autosync is enabled.
You can set the max file size limit to skip very large files. You can disable autosync over mobile network and let app transfer data only when you’re connected to WiFi. Mobile data can be quite expensive in many countries.
You can allow autosync to run only when the device is being charged or when the battery level is good. Transferring large files can take long time. You don’t want it happen when battery is low.
Even when autosync is not allowed because of battery level or the device is connected to mobile network, not WiFi, you can always invoke sync manually. Perhaps you need to download an important document someone added to the shared folder in your cloud account. Manual sync does not check the battery or network condition. The app does exactly what you tell it to do at the moment: sync.
These options and many others can be set in the app settings.
Folder pairs control what in the device is synced with what in cloud storage account and how. Each folder pair consists of two sides
- Local folder in device
- Remote folder in cloud storage
The app checks these two folders, compares their contents and syncs them. How the files and subfolders in these two folders are synced is controlled by the sync method the user set for the folder pair.
You can exclude a folder pair from both manual sync and autosync by turning off the Sync enabled switch, for example when you reorganize your files in the device folder or in the cloud storage account and don’t want to sync them until you’re done.
In this screencast we show how to create a new folder pair. The folder in device is “AzRecorderFree”. That’s where the captured screencasts are stored. We sync it with a folder “AZRecorder” in the cloud. Such a folder doesn’t exist yet. We need to create it first ( by tapping on the icon “folder with plus sign” at the top right corner of the screen).
Folder pair configuration can be changed. Let’s say we created a folder pair to sync photos in the device internal storage with a folder “Fotky” in the cloud. Later we changed the camera settings to store photos in the SD card instead of internal storage. The local folder “/storage/emulated/0/DCIM/Camera” needs to change to “/storage/0000-0000/DCIM/Camera”. We also change the sync method from “Two-way” to “Upload only”. Here’s the screencast showing how these two changes can be done:
Sync methods tell the app where and when files are uploaded, downloaded or deleted. They should be chosen carefully.
Sync Method: Two-Way
New files and modified files on one side are transferred to the other side. Files deleted on one side are also deleted on the other side. After sync is finished the two folders are exact copies of each other.
This is how the official desktop clients work (but not so with their Android apps).
Sync Method: Upload Only
Files newly added or modified in device are uploaded to the cloud. Files deleted in device are not deleted in the cloud. Uploads are remembered and being done only once. If the uploaded files are later deleted in the cloud they will not be uploaded again unless modifications have been made to the original files in device.
No changes are made to files and folders in device.
Sync Method: Upload Then Delete
New files in devices are uploaded to the cloud then deleted from device. After sync is finished no files are left on device side.
Think about it as Move Files from device to cloud.
Sync Method: Upload Mirror
Make cloud folder an exact copy (mirror) of the folder in device. All files are uploaded to the cloud. Files deleted in device are deleted in the cloud. Changes made in the cloud folder are overwritten.
Sync Method: Download Only
Files newly added or modified in the cloud are downloaded to device. Files deleted in the cloud are not deleted in device. Downloads are remembered and being done only once. If the downloaded files are later deleted in device they will not be downloaded again unless modifications have been made to the original files in the cloud.
No changes are made to files and folders in the cloud.
Sync Method: Download Then Delete
New files in the cloud are downloaded to device then deleted from the cloud. After sync is finished no files are left on cloud side.
Think about it as Move Files from the cloud to device.
Sync Method: Download Mirror
Make the folder in device an exact copy (mirror) of the cloud folder. All files are downloaded to device. Files deleted in the cloud are deleted in device. Changes made in device are overwritten.